Participant Registration is open between 12 April and 12 August 2019.

Please check whether your ESA membership is valid in 2019 by logging in to the ESA website here. Go to 'My Dashboard' in order to learn about your status. If you do not have an ESA membership or if it is expired, choose category B.

  Band 1 countries

  Band 2 countries
  Regular Student Regular Student
Early 200 110 150 80
Standard 260 160 200 130

All amounts in Euro.

  Band 1 countries

  Band 2 countries
  Regular Student Regular Student
Early 200 + 180 = 380 110 + 50 = 160 150 + 70 = 220 80 + 40 = 120
Standard 260 + 180 = 440 160 + 50 = 210 200 + 70 = 270 130 + 40 = 170

All amounts in Euro. The first amount indicates the category A conference fee for ESA members; the second amount indicates the ESA membership fee for 2 calendar years (2019-2020).

We invite you to check category B, because the conference fee + ESA membership fee amount to either the same or even 20 Euro less than the conference fee for non-ESA members!

  Band 1 countries

  Band 2 countries
  Regular Student Regular Student
Early 400 160 240 120
Standard 460 210 290 170

All amounts in Euro.

For the first time, the European Sociological Association is introducing a Solidarity Fund. The Solidarity Fund is available to all ESA members in a precarious situation (e.g. PhD students, the unemployed, retired). Selected applicants will benefit from a fee waiver towards attendance at the 14th ESA Conference in Manchester. To be eligible, applicants must:

  • be an ESA member in good standing
  • fill out the application form
  • send a short CV (max. 1 page)
  • attach a letter of support from a supervisor (where the applicant is a postgraduate student) or in other instances from a suitable referee, stating how your participation in the conference will benefit your study/research. Letters of support must be issued on an organisation/institute’s letterhead and be signed by the supervisor/referee.

Applicants are asked to bear in mind that the committee may not have the opportunity to consider your application before the conference registration deadline. This will not affect your application as the conference fee may be reimbursed retrospectively.

Deadline: 15 March 2019

Send all documents, including the filled out Application Form preferably in a single PDF file, to esa2019[at]europeansociology.org with the subject "Solidarity Fund Application".

Solidarity Fund Committee
Milica Antic Gaber (Slovenia)
Laura Horn (Denmark)
Sokratis Koniordos (Greece)

Band 1:  Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Cayman Islands, Channel Islands, Chile, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Guam, Hong Kong SAR/China, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Rep., Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao SAR/China, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Oman, Palau, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Martin (French part), Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Virgin Islands (U.S.). 

Band 2: everywhere else. 

Source: World Bank list of economies (June 2018);
  for 2018 high-income economies are those with a GNI (Gross National Income) per capita of $12,056 or more (accessed July 2018). ​​​​​